NORTH DAKOTA MARIJUANA LAWS - CANNABIS & HEMP LAWS

You have 2 options:

Option #1: Free Information Below

Continue scrolling through all the information we have provided you on Marijuana Laws by State below, and attempt to figure it out all by yourself… (time-consuming).

Option #2: Cannabis College

Allow Learn Sativa University, guide you step-by-step.

If you are serious about opening up a medical marijuana dispensary in Florida, or getting involved with thte $52.5 million cannabis industry in general – please click the button below in order to learn more about Cannabis College.

We now offer turn-key solutions for those looking to open up a legal operation.

Learn Sativa University can help you with the following:

  • Finding Investors
  • Medical Marijuana Business Plans
  • Dispensary Licensing Pre-req’s
  • Cultivation
  • MMTC Layouts
  • Recruiting XP Marijuana Staff
  • Locating DOH MMJ Doctors
  • & Much, Much More.

Choose Your Path Below:

North Dakota’s Cannabis and Hemp Laws

Medical

Yes (as of 2016). Medical marijuana is legal in North Dakota for approved patients that are 19-years or older. However, minors may apply under specific conditions.

Legal Personal Possession Weight

Dried leaves and flowers: 3-ounces

or

THC Concentrate: Up to 4,000mg THC total of cannabis products

Enhanced Amount: If a patient has a severe medical condition that requires more medical marijuana, then the legal possession limit is increased to 7.5-ounces of dried cannabis.

Medical marijuana minors: Minors who are cleared for medical marijuana may not possess dried cannabis flowers or products that contain more than 6% THC.

Source

https://www.health.nd.gov/sites/www/files/documents/Files/MM/Product_and_Limits_Info.pdf

Recreational

No. However, the November 2020 primary election will give voters a chance to legalize recreational marijuana in North Dakota.

Legal Personal Possession Weight

Currently, all forms of cannabis are illegal without a valid medical marijuana card in North Dakota. If caught with 1/2 ounce or less, the result is a criminal infraction. Anything over 1/2 ounce of cannabis is treated as a misdemeanor and potentially 30-days in jail.

Source

https://norml.org/laws/item/north-dakota-penalties-2

Grow Your Own

No. Lawmakers in North Dakota removed medical marijuana patients’ right to cultivate cannabis with the approval of SB2344.

Plant Count

None. Cultivating cannabis without a business license is currently illegal under SB2344.

Source

https://www.legis.nd.gov/assembly/65-2017/documents/17-0630-05000.pdf

Is Caregiving Allowed

Yes

Plant Count

None. Although caregiving is allowed in North Dakota, it’s illegal to cultivate marijuana plants.

Weight

The weight limits are the same for caregivers as they are for medical marijuana patients.

Dried leaves and flowers: 3-ounces

or

THC Concentrate: Up to 4,000mg THC total of cannabis products

Enhanced Amount: If a patient has a severe medical condition that requires more medical marijuana, then the legal possession limit is increased to 7.5-ounces of dried cannabis.

License Cost

The cost of becoming a medical marijuana patient in North Dakota is $50. Apply here:

https://mmregistration.health.nd.gov/?action=registration

The cost of becoming a licensed caregiver is $50. Apply here:

https://mmregistration.health.nd.gov/?action=registration

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

North Dakota Department of Health

Source

https://mmregistration.health.nd.gov/

Vertical or Horizontal Cannabis License for Business

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

North Dakota Department of Health. However, all licenses for the cultivation, distribution, and retail sales are closed

Total Cannabis License Cost

$5,000 for application fees and up to $110,000 for manufacturing or dispensary licenses.

Click here to find out more information:

https://norml.org/legal/item/north-dakota-medical-marijuana

Dispensary License Cost

Up to $110,000. A total of 8 cannabis dispensary licenses were allowed, and registration is currently closed.

https://norml.org/legal/item/north-dakota-medical-marijuana

Cultivation License Cost

Up to $110,000. A total of 2 production facilities were chosen. Applications are closed.

https://norml.org/legal/item/north-dakota-medical-marijuana

CBD or Hemp License/Program (Yes or No)

Yes

Which Organization Manage Licenses?

North Dakota Department of Agriculture

Cultivation License

To grow hemp, you must fill out a Hemp Proposal. Fill out the Proposal here:

https://www.nd.gov/ndda/sites/default/files/resource/60963HempProposal_1.pdf

Apply here:

https://ole.ndda.nd.gov/login?next=hempprojects/

Growers are charged roughly $100 per lot that’s used to cultivate hemp.

Processor License

To process industrial hemp, you must submit a Hemp Proposal. Fill out the Proposal here:

https://www.nd.gov/ndda/sites/default/files/resource/60963HempProposal_1.pdf

Apply here:

https://ole.ndda.nd.gov/login?next=hempprojects/

Retail License

A special license is not necessary to sell processed hemp products.

Food License

A special license is currently not required to infuse food with hemp-derived concentrate.

FAQs

Where Can You Legally Consume Cannabis in North Dakota?

You can legally consume cannabis in a private residence as long as you hold a valid medical marijuana card. If you do not hold a valid medical marijuana card, it’s illegal to consume cannabis.

Driving Under the Influence in North Dakota

It’s illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana in North Dakota. Regardless if you are a medical marijuana patient or not, the law will treat this as a DUI. If you do not carry a medical marijuana card, you may face enhanced charges when caught driving under the influence of cannabis in North Dakota.

Can You Transport Marijuana in North Dakota?

Yes. You may transport medical marijuana as long as it falls within the legal possession limit. However, if you do not hold a valid medical marijuana card, you will be subject to a misdemeanor or felony.

Can You Export Marijuana from North Dakota?

No. Exporting cannabis from North Dakota to another state is illegal.

Will North Dakota Pass Recreational Cannabis in 2020?

North Dakota may become a recreationally legal state by the end of 2020 — depending on how the measure is received by voters.

Can Anyone Buy CBD Oil in North Dakota?

Yes — as long as the CBD oil in question contains 0.3% THC or less.

Choose Your Path Below: