NEW MEXICO MARIJUANA LAWS - CANNABIS & HEMP LAWS

You have 2 options:

Option #1: Free Information Below

Continue scrolling through all the information we have provided you on Marijuana Laws by State below, and attempt to figure it out all by yourself… (time-consuming).

Option #2: Cannabis College

Allow Learn Sativa University, guide you step-by-step.

If you are serious about opening up a medical marijuana dispensary in Florida, or getting involved with thte $52.5 million cannabis industry in general – please click the button below in order to learn more about Cannabis College.

We now offer turn-key solutions for those looking to open up a legal operation.

Learn Sativa University can help you with the following:

  • Finding Investors
  • Medical Marijuana Business Plans
  • Dispensary Licensing Pre-req’s
  • Cultivation
  • MMTC Layouts
  • Recruiting XP Marijuana Staff
  • Locating DOH MMJ Doctors
  • & Much, Much More.

Choose Your Path Below:

New Mexico’s Cannabis and Hemp Laws

Medical

Yes (as of 2007)

Legal Personal Possession Weight

A maximum of 230 “units” per 90-days (3 months). A unit represents a single gram. Therefore, medical marijuana patients in New Mexico may purchase 8-ounces of marijuana over 3-months.

For edibles, tinctures, and topicals, a unit describes 200mg of THC.

Source

https://nmhealth.org/publication/view/help/4996/

Recreational

No. However, cannabis is decriminalized in New Mexico as of 2019.

Legal Personal Possession Weight

Although cannabis is not recreationally legal, it is decriminalized. This means you may have up to half an ounce (.5oz) of cannabis in your possession without repercussion. However, if you don’t have a medical marijuana card and caught with over .5oz, then you will be subject to a misdemeanor or felony.

Source

https://norml.org/laws/item/new-mexico-penalties-2

Grow Your Own

Yes

Plant Count

Currently, you must obtain a Personal Production License to grow your own medical marijuana. This license costs $30 to submit. Once obtained, you are cleared to grow up to four mature cannabis plants, 12 cannabis seedlings, and 2 immature cannabis plants.

If you decide to grow your own medical marijuana without a PPL, you will be subject to a felony.

Source

https://nmhealth.org/publication/view/form/136/

Is Caregiving Allowed

Yes

Plant Count

A caregiver must apply for a Personal Production License and be listed as the primary caregiver for a valid medical marijuana patient. Once obtained, you are cleared to grow up to four mature cannabis plants, 12 cannabis seedlings, and 2 immature cannabis plants.

Weight

Although not expressly mentioned, it would be safe to assume that you’re allowed up to 230 units of cannabis per 3-month cycles.

License Cost

Signing up for a Personal Production License costs $30.00. Apply here:

https://nmhealth.org/publication/view/form/136/

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

New Mexico Department of Health

Source

https://nmhealth.org/about/mcp/svcs/

Vertical or Horizontal Cannabis License for Business

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

New Mexico Department of Health

Total Cannabis License Cost

To obtain a Licensed Non-Profit Producer (LNPP), you must apply for a license from the NMDOH (New Mexico Department of Health). However, the NMDOH is no longer accepting new Dispensary or Production applicants at this time.

Dispensary License Cost (Link to Application)

Please visit this link to check the status of Dispensary Licenses:

https://nmhealth.org/about/mcp/svcs/pdb/

Cultivation License Cost

Although currently closed, visit this link to check the status of a Cultivation License:

https://nmhealth.org/about/mcp/svcs/pdb/

Manufacturing License Cost

Click here to apply for a Manufacturing License:

https://nmhealth.org/publication/view/form/5477/

The total cost to obtain a Manufacturing License is $1,000.

CBD or Hemp License/Program (Yes or No)

FAQs

Where Can You Legally Consume Cannabis in New Mexico?

You can’t consume medical marijuana in public in New Mexico. As a medical marijuana patient, you’re allowed to consume cannabis in a private residence.

Driving Under the Influence

Driving under the influence of marijuana is expressly illegal. If you are suspected or caught with a cannabis-related DUI, you will go to jail.

Can You Transport Marijuana in New Mexico?

Yes, as a licensed medical marijuana patient, Producer, Cultivator, or licensed worker in the cannabis industry, you may transport specified amounts. If you do not carry a license, it’s illegal to transport marijuana in New Mexico.

Can You Export Marijuana from New Mexico?

No. New Mexico’s laws expressly mention that cross-border movement of cannabis is illegal (with or without a license).

Can You Sell Excess Medical Marijuana in New Mexico?

If you are a medical marijuana patient in New Mexico, you are not allowed to sell or profit from cannabis.

What Happens to My Medical Marijuana License if I Break The Rules?

Your medical marijuana license will be revoked and you may be subject to penalties.

Choose Your Path Below: