MINNESOTA MARIJUANA LAWS - CANNABIS & HEMP LAWS

You have 3 options:

Option #1: Free Information Below

Continue scrolling through all the information we have provided you on Marijuana Laws by State below, and attempt to figure it out all by yourself… (time-consuming).

 

Option #2: Cannabis College

Allow Learn Sativa University, guide you step-by-step.

If you are serious about opening up a medical marijuana dispensary in Florida, or getting involved with thte $52.5 million cannabis industry in general – please click the button below in order to learn more about Cannabis College.

We now offer turn-key solutions for those looking to open up a legal operation.

 

Option #3: Use our Free Cannabis Business Plan Generator Tool

Our new cannabis business plan tool will provide you with a step by step business plan.

 

Learn Sativa University can help you with the following:

  • Finding Investors
  • Medical Marijuana Business Plans
  • Dispensary Licensing Pre-req’s
  • Cultivation
  • MMTC Layouts
  • Recruiting XP Marijuana Staff
  • Locating DOH MMJ Doctors
  • & Much, Much More.

Choose Your Path Below:

Minnesota’s Cannabis and Hemp Laws

Medical

Yes (as of 2014)

Legal Personal Possession Weight

Minnesota’s medical marijuana program is unique because it only allows non-smokable cannabis products. Minnesota medical marijuana patients are allowed up to a 30-day supply of cannabis products.

Source

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/cannabis/patients/index.html

Recreational

No

Legal Personal Possession Weight

Currently, it’s a misdemeanor to possess 42.5-grams or less without a valid medical marijuana card in Minnesota. However, this may change if Minnesota chooses to legalize recreational marijuana in the 2020 elections.

Source

https://norml.org/laws/item/minnesota-penalties-2

Grow Your Own

No

Plant Count

None. Currently, it’s illegal to cultivate cannabis at home. Furthermore, all of Minnesota’s cannabis is state-regulated, which means only a few producers are allowed to operate in the state.

Source

https://norml.org/legal/item/minnesota-medical-marijuana-law

Is Caregiving Allowed

Yes. Only parents, legal guardians, and spouses are allowed to apply for caregiver status.

Plant Count

None. Currently, it’s illegal to cultivate cannabis at home. Furthermore, all of Minnesota’s cannabis is state-regulated, which means only a few producers are allowed to operate in the state.

Weight

The possession limit for caregivers and their patients is a 30-day supply of cannabis concentrate.

License Cost

All medical marijuana patients must pay an annual fee of $200 for a medical marijuana card in Minnesota.

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/cannabis/patients/fee.html

Learn about the registration process here:

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/cannabis/patients/registration.html

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

Minnesota Department of Health

Source

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/cannabis/index.html

Vertical or Horizontal Cannabis License for Business

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

Minnesota Department of Health

Total Cannabis License Cost

The total cost of obtaining a cannabis license is dependent on the type of license. However, Minnesota applicants saw non-refundable application fees as high as $20,000 when registration for licenses began.

However, Minnesota tightly controls the number of dispensary and cultivation licenses available. Currently, registration is closed for dispensary and manufacturing licenses.

Dispensary License Cost

Minnesota is granting a total of four (4) medical marijuana dispensary licenses. Currently, 2 medical marijuana dispensaries have been approved. Another 2 have yet to be chosen from a pool of applicants by December 2020.

Cultivation License Cost

Currently, Minnesota only allows 2 state-run medical marijuana manufacturing companies to operate. Therefore, there are not any open spaces available for new medical marijuana licenses in the state of Minnesota at this time.

CBD or Hemp License/Program (Yes or No)

Yes

Which Organization Manage Licenses?

Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Cultivation License

Currently, Minnesota has closed registration for the Hemp Growing License. Find out more information here:

https://www.mda.state.mn.us/plants/hemp/firsttimeapplicants

Processor License

Currently, Minnesota has closed registration for the Hemp Processor License. Find out more information here:

https://www.mda.state.mn.us/plants/hemp

Retail License

Currently, Minnesota has closed registration for the Hemp Retail License. Find out more information here:

https://www.mda.state.mn.us/plants/hemp

Food License

Currently, Minnesota has closed registration for the Hemp Food License. Find out more information here:

https://www.mda.state.mn.us/plants/hemp

FAQs

Where Can You Legally Consume Cannabis in Minnesota?

You can legally consume medical marijuana in a private residence if you hold a valid medical marijuana card. It’s illegal to consume cannabis if you are not a medical marijuana patient.

Driving Under the Influence in Minnesota?

It’s illegal to drive under the influence of medical marijuana in the state of Minnesota. If you are caught, you will face a potential jail sentence, along with fees and a criminal record.

Can You Transport Marijuana in Minnesota?

Yes. You may carry and transport a 30-day supply of cannabis concentrate that’s purchased legally in the state of Minnesota.

Can You Export Marijuana from Minnesota?

No. It’s illegal to export cannabis products from Minnesota.

When Will Cannabis Be Recreationally Legal in Minnesota?

Legal recreational cannabis will need to wait until 2021 at earliest ever since Republicans in Minnesota voted against a measure to legalize recreational cannabis.

Can I Buy CBD Oil in Minnesota?

Yes. However, it must test below 0.3% THC.

How Old Can I Be to Apply For a Medical Marijuana Card in Minnesota?

You must be 18-years or older to apply for a medical marijuana card in Minnesota.

Choose Your Path Below: