CALIFORNIA MARIJUANA LAWS - CANNABIS & HEMP LAWS

You have 3 options:

Option #1: Free Information Below

Continue scrolling through all the information we have provided you on Marijuana Laws by State below, and attempt to figure it out all by yourself… (time-consuming).

 

Option #2: Cannabis College

Allow Learn Sativa University, guide you step-by-step.

If you are serious about opening up a medical marijuana dispensary in Florida, or getting involved with thte $52.5 million cannabis industry in general – please click the button below in order to learn more about Cannabis College.

We now offer turn-key solutions for those looking to open up a legal operation.

 

Option #3: Use our Free Cannabis Business Plan Generator Tool

Our new cannabis business plan tool will provide you with a step by step business plan.

 

Learn Sativa University can help you with the following:

  • Finding Investors
  • Medical Marijuana Business Plans
  • Dispensary Licensing Pre-req’s
  • Cultivation
  • MMTC Layouts
  • Recruiting XP Marijuana Staff
  • Locating DOH MMJ Doctors
  • & Much, Much More.

Choose Your Path Below:

California's Cannabis and Hemp Laws

Medical

Yes (since 1996). The minimum age is 18.

Legal Personal Possession Weight

  • Dry cannabis flower: 8-ounces
  • Concentrate: Not specified

Source

https://norml.org/laws/item/california-penalties

https://web.archive.org/web/20100101143455/http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MMP/Pages/Medical Marijuana Program.aspx

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHSI/Pages/MMICP-FAQs.aspx#How much does it cost to apply for a card?

Recreational

Yes (since 2018). The minimum age is 21.

Legal Personal Possession Weight

  • Dry cannabis flower: up to 1-ounce
  • Concentrate: up to 8-grams (edibles are included in this section)

Source

https://cannabis.ca.gov/

https://norml.org/laws/item/california-penalties

Grow Your Own

Yes

Plant Count

6 mature cannabis plants or 12 immature cannabis plants.

Source:

https://norml.org/laws/item/california-penalties

Is Caregiving Allowed

Yes (up to 5 patients)

Plant Count

Regulations of each county may limit this number to 6 mature cannabis plants per patient. Therefore, a caregiver may grow a total of 30 mature cannabis plants.

Weight

Determined by the needs of the patients in question. However, each medical marijuana patient may possess up to 8-ounces of dried cannabis flower. Therefore, the primary caregiver may potentially possess up to 40-ounces of dried cannabis flower.

Source:

https://www.canorml.org/medical-marijuana/patients-guide-to-medical-marijuana-law-in-california/

License Cost

The cost of obtaining a Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) is less than $100 (depending on county). If you are Medi-Cal eligible, then you’re eligible for a medical marijuana card at the cost of $50.

If you’d like to become a primary caregiver, you must consult with your patients’ county program. However, a caregiver may have to pay between $50-100 per patient.

Source

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHSI/Pages/MMICP-FAQs.aspx#How much does it cost to apply for a card?

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

County Department of Public Health. This means that you must visit your county’s Department of Public Health to find out how to apply for an MMIC (medical marijuana identification card).

Source:

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHSI/Pages/County-Program-and-Hours.aspx#L

Vertical or Horizontal Cannabis License for Business

Which Organization Manages Licenses?

Total Cannabis License Cost (Link to Application)

The total cost for a cannabis license is dependent on the type of business that you seek to begin. However, cannabis licenses range from $1000 to $240,000.

Apply here for a cannabis cultivation license: https://aca6.accela.com/calcannabis/Welcome.aspx

Apply to manufacture cannabis products here: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CEH/DFDCS/MCSB/Pages/Applyforalicense.aspx

Apply here for a commercial cannabis license: https://online.bcc.ca.gov/bcc/Welcome.aspx

Dispensary License Cost

Apply here for a dispensary license: https://online.bcc.ca.gov/bcc/Welcome.aspx

Click here to view annual dispensary license fees: https://cannabis.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/13/2019/01/Order-of-Adoption-Clean-Version-of-Text.pdf

Cultivation License Cost

Click here to apply for a cultivation license: https://aca6.accela.com/calcannabis/Welcome.aspx

Click here to view the annual cost for a cultivation license: https://static.cdfa.ca.gov/MCCP/document/CDFA Final Regulation Text_01162019_Clean.pdf

Transportation License Cost

Click here to apply for a transportation license: https://cannabis.ca.gov/motor-carrier-permits/

Click here to view annual transportation license cost: https://cannabis.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/13/2019/01/Order-of-Adoption-Clean-Version-of-Text.pdf

Disposal License Cost

Click here for a disposal license: https://online.bcc.ca.gov/bcc/Welcome.aspx

CBD or Hemp License/Program

Yes

Which Organization Manage Licenses? (Depart of Agriculture, Health, Revenue, ETC)

California Department of Agriculture

Cultivation License

Click here to apply for a hemp cultivation license: http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/plant/industrialhemp/index.html

Retail License

Currently, there is not a retail license available. California does not have any requirements for selling non-food industrial or non-industrial hemp products.

Food License

Currently, there isn’t a food license for hemp products. AB-228 specifies that a business can produce industrial hemp products that are fit for human consumption, along with other guidelines.

Understand that this may change once California drafts a new regulatory framework that regulates all hemp-derived products.

FAQs

Where Can You Legally Consume Cannabis in California?

You may legally consume cannabis in your private residence, as well as licensed establishments that allow patrons to consume cannabis onsite.

Driving Under the Influence

You are not legally allowed to drive under the influence in California under any circumstances.

Can You Transport Marijuana in California?

Yes, however, you must obtain a transportation license if you are transporting commercial quantities. If personal, then you’re legally allowed to carry up to 1-ounce of dried cannabis flower recreationally or up to 8-ounces as an MMIC holder.

Can You Export Marijuana from California?

It depends. If exporting to another connected legal state, such as Oregon, it is legal.

Choose Your Path Below: